The (Second, not that I’m bragging) Liebster Award

I was nominated for a second Liebster Award by Midnight Ranter   who, as well as writing a super blog full of interesting book reviews and her own beautiful writings, is extremely patient, given that I was very kindly nominated for this back in June.  Please, do not take this as a lack of gratitude! I am very grateful.

YOU KNOW THE RULES:

  1. Acknowledge the person who nominated you and display the award.
  2. Answer eleven questions that the blogger gives you.
  3. Give eleven random facts about yourself.
  4. Nominate 11 blogs who you think deserve it.
  5. Let the bloggers know you’ve nominated them.
  6. Give your eleven questions to the nominees. (I may break this rule, being naturally inclined to minor acts of rebellion, which has to find an outlet somewhere.)

ANSWERING THE QUESTIONS FROM MIDNIGHT RANTER:

1. What makes you, you?

I am not sure, but recently I have begun to think of how much our selves are the result of a random pairing of individuals, a random collection of random chromosomes from those random individuals, and the impact of the random combination of time and circumstances that we randomly find ourselves born into. Therefore each and every one of us is truly unique, but not all of us are fortunate enough to identify that unique crux of ourselves and capitalize on it positively. If we were able to do the latter, I think the world may be a better place. I am not sure I really understand what my unique points are. I can fit my fist in my mouth, which is quite special, but probably not a defining feature.

2. What’s the one thought that rings so loudly in your mind that it’s a bit scary?

I PROPER LOVE MY FIANCE – scary because it does nothing for my hard-nut image, but justified as, among other attributes, he proposed in a bookish fashion!

3. Favourite colour?

The colour of a clear blue sky on a day without worry, when I am walking to a pub or a bookshop, especially on a day off during the week when everyone else is at work and you can walk past other people’s offices and just mouth ‘SHAAAAME’ to them through the window. I never actually do that, as I have been brought up nicely, but the thought that I could is quite exciting nevertheless.

4. What do you think of the quote, ‘Actions speak louder than words’?

All I know is that (for some strange reason) it reminds me of my mother’s repeated refrain during my childhood: ‘Bronte, you can get just as much attention if you sit quietly as when you are loud.’ Yeah, right. #TurnerdoesntbelievetheLIES #TurnerstaysVOCAL

5. If you could fly anywhere you want, what country would you visit?

I’d take my mum to the Galapagos Islands to see the big tortoises, as she once had a pet tortoise which ran away. Over fifty years on, the wounds of this loss have of course not healed, as people merely laugh at the thought of a tortoise running away, rather than offering sympathy.

6. Favourite movie?

The Indiana Jones series – I have fond memories of going to see it at the cinema in Enfield with my dad, and also of my grandma who had a picture of Harrison Ford next to Jesus on her mantle piece (see here ). As you do.

7. I won’t tell you to narrow it down to one book, but, favourite series?

It’s a long while since I’ve loved a whole series of books, only as there are so many books to read generally that I just can’t make the commitment to focus on a series. But  the Secret Seven jaunts of my childhood have stayed with me.

8. From the most recent thing you’ve read/watched, who’s your favourite character and why?

It’s a few books ago now, but I accidentally (in the sense I meant to palm it off to my Nan, but became engrossed myself) read a book about the woman who married Reggie Kray, Frances Shea, and, amidst the tragic story, the guts of the bereaved mother who spat in the face of the man she considered to have driven her child to an early grave was awe-inspiring, when you consider the majority of the British Establishment wet their pants at the thought of squaring up to the Krays. See here for the full story.

9. Favourite singer/band?

As a 12 year old, a school pal copied me a tape of a band her big sister was obsessed with, and it opened up a whole new world for me of great bands, gigging, and a network of friends that have sustained me until this day. That album was Nevermind by Nirvana, so I think Kurt, Krist and Dave deserve my neverending thanks for putting me on the right musical track. Even if later on that track included an embarrassing amount of Sean Paul…oh well, whatever, nevermind.

10. Last song you’ve listened to?

River of Deceit by Mad Season, which is based on Layne Staley’s reading of The Prophet by Khalil Gibran. Beautiful song, beautiful voice! I haven’t actually read that book but my mum has it and she can lend it to me when we Go Galapagos. Yeah, I’ve got it all planned.

11. What five words would you choose that best describe you?

‘A piece of bloody work.’ As spoken by an old boss of mine, supposedly affectionately (as he reassured me) but no doubt linked to my failure to listen to the advice of my mother under question 4.

11 RANDOM FACTS ABOUT ME:

 I gave too much away last time , plus I’ve told you about the fist in the mouth thing. I have to maintain some mystique.

MY NOMINATIONS:

  1. Jess And Her Books
  2. Madame Bibliophile Recommends
  3. Fiction Fan
  4. Napoleon Split
  5. Bits n Books
  6. Circumstance 227
  7. Keeping Busy with B
  8. Chai Chat
  9. From Guest Writers
  10. Cultural Wednesday
  11. The Book Satchel

MY QUESTIONS FOR NOMINEES:

  1. What made you start blogging?
  2. I have to purchase every book I read. Do you?
  3. I have a spreadsheet of all of my books to guard against theft (aka borrowers not returning items) and other calamities. Do you?
  4. I run yearly maintenance on my books, giving them a good airing and checking for damp. What lengths do you go to to care for your books?
  5. To paraphrase the poet Barry Manilow…Questions 2-4 show How Deep Is My Love for books. Can you tell me something that demonstrates How Deep Is Your Love  for books?
  6. Do you have a favourite song based on a book?

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Thank you for the nomination, I’m honored! You are so insanely funny- it is one in the morning hear and I hope my sleeping parents can’t hear my laughter through the door. Please convey my sincere regards to your mom in regards to the tortoise. I hope your future trip to the Galapagos provides some closure.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha!! Yes, closure is what we now need, all these years on.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. P.s and my pleasure, your blog is excellent and I really enjoy it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. So is yours! I’ve looked around, but couldn’t find an email address. Do you have one?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. ooh it should be on the blog somewhere as I’m sure I’ve had emails before – but lord knows where! Let me investigate!

        Like

      3. NapoleonSplit! You asked for my email address – best to contact me via my Facebook Page https://www.facebook.com/BrontesPageTurners/ (I’ve updated my About section following your very useful prompting!)

        Like

  2. Thanks very much for the nomination!

    I am so impressed by the fist in mouth thing. Has it added to or detracted from your hard nut image 😀 ?

    I also want to go to the Galapagos Islands, despite a lack of tortoise trauma in my life – looks amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it just makes me look a bit loony!! Oh yes Galapagos. What a trip that would be.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Woah! Colour me impressed! I absolutely adored all of your answers and have to admit, it sure was worth the wait! Thanks for doing the tag by the end, and know that I definitely enjoyed reading it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is great to hear!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. FictionFan says:

    Thank you for the nomination! 🙂 I enjoyed your answers (and the link to your proposal post – big awwww!) but the question that inevitably arises is – can you put a whole tortoise in your mouth? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. hahaha! I’m sure my mother would never allow me to try! Ps ta for the awwws!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you for the nomination. I loved reading through your answers. I agree about the clear blue sky. SO relaxing

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment