ODE TO READING IN BED WHEN YOU ARE 8 YEARS OLD AKA CRIM CITY

 

MUM PUT ME TO BED, I HEARD WHAT SHE SAID

‘TURN OFF THOSE LIGHTS AND LAY DOWN YOUR HEAD!’

BUT  I’VE  GOT THE SECRET SEVEN WHIRRING ROUND MY BRAIN

THE MYSTERY OF THE MISSING JOLLY HOCKEYSTICKS  IS DRIVING ME INSANE

MUM GOES DOWNSTAIRS AND I DON’T TURN OFF THE LIGHT

I’M GEARING UP FOR A GANGSTA ENID BLYTON NIGHT

I’M UP WELL LATE BUT I DON’T GIVE A DAMN

I’M PLAYING WITH FIRE AT 8.37PM

FAST FORWARD 25(ish) YEARS AND CRIM CITY STILL REIGNS

I SHOULD BE ASLEEP BUT IT’S 12.48AM

I AM THE BIBLIOPHILE MIDNIGHT RIDER*

TOMORROW I’LL LOOK AS ROUGH AS SHAUN RYDER**

AT WORK THEY’LL THINK I’VE BEEN OUT ON THE RAZZ

NOT BURNING THE MIDNIGHT OIL WITH GARCIA MARQUEZ

(YES, I KNOW THAT RHYME WENT A BIT PETE TONG

BUT HAVE YOU EVER TRIED TO RHYME IN A BIBLIOPHILE SONG?)

BOOKWORMS AROUND THE WORLD, I FEEL YOUR PAIN

YOUNG AND OLD, WE ARE ALL THE SAME

WE WANT TO READ ALL NIGHT, BUT THERE’S ALWAYS SCHOOL OR WORK TOMORROW

IT’S A BAD BOY HABIT THAT WE WILL NEVER EVER OUTGROW.

 

102145
*Just to ensure readers do not confuse me with any sort of dodgy Midnight Rider..

 

gettyimages-110060290_rt_0
**Shaun Ryder of the Happy Mondays. He used to look a lot rougher than this, but no one wants to live in the past. He once said to me,’Now, I like a good book. But I’m calling the cops on you Brontë because you are twisting my melon with this book-talk. You go on a bit, love. Now where’s my rooibos tea…’

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 Comments Add yours

    1. Thank you and hello! Are you also a victim of the late night read binge?

      Like

      1. Oh yes, very much so 🙂 I love how books can just take you away and make you forget everything else! In fact at one time it was also what got me through many a night when I used to wake up with anxiety attacks.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Books are great for easing anxiety I think. I find they help me in a similar way by taking your mind off of troubles.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

