Ringing in the New Year Book Tag

Thank you very much to Bookish Underdog for tagging me for this!

THE RULES:
– Link to the person who tagged you
– Link to the creator of the tag – Rae @ Bookmark Chronicles
– Answer the questions below
– Tag friends (or not if you don’t feel like it)

THE QUESTIONS:

1. Best book and/or series that you’ve read in 2016?

By far the best book I read in 2016 was Sacred Hunger, a completely epic tale which I posted about earlier this month. This is closely followed by Mona Lisa – A Life Discovered, which recreates the life of the real Mona Lisa, Lisa Gherardini, through historical records set against what we know about the lives of young women in Renaissance Florence, and An Unnecessary Woman, the tale of a 72-year-old bibliophile growing old in Beirut.

2. Authors that you’ve recently found and would like to read more of in the new year?

I am completely intrigued by Ethel Carnie (1886 – 1962), who wrote what is believed to be the first published novel written by a working class woman, 1913’s Miss Nobody. She worked in the Lancashire cotton mills from the age of 11 until her early twenties, and wrote Miss Nobody between serving customers at a draper’s shop back in Great Harwood. I would love to read more of her poetry, children’s books and journalism.

3. Most anticipated book turned movie/tv show?

The Powers That Be hardly ever seem to turn the books I like into films or TV shows, and, if they do, they usually cast Keira Knightley as the female lead, and this does my head in as I do not rate her ‘I pout, therefore I act’ approach. However, if any of the Powers That Be are reading, the aforementioned Sacred Hunger would make an excellent TV series if handled correctly and if Keira Knightley is barred from any involvement.

4.  Name a character that you wouldn’t mind sharing a kiss with at midnight.

A lady never tells. But I feel the need to tell you that a friend of mine had a crush on the cartoon character Prince Valiant when we were about 13. Funny the things you remember…

5. What’s on your TBR for 2017? (Top 5 will suffice if it’s an extremely long list!)/6. How many books do you hope to read in 2017?

There are over 200 books on my TBR shelves and my hope is that I manage to enjoy as many of them as possible this year. I set myself one TBR target in January, however, which was to plough through the Penguin 60s Box Set – review to follow shortly!

16325489_1785766965080647_1101877206_o

6. Will you participate in the Goodreads Reading Challenge or any others (PopSugar, Read the Books You Buy, etc.)?

My obsessive book buying means that I am a one-woman book challenge, given the extent of my TBR shelves as described above. However I don’t believe in reading challenges (I’m with Bookish Underdog on this)– reading should be for pleasure, and anyone needing a reboot on this essential fact should treat themselves to Daniel Pennac’s The Rights of the Reader.

7. Any New Year’s Resolutions? (Bookish, blogging, and otherwise.)

Towards the end of last year I completed a three-month Mindfulness course. Mindfulness is all about training your brain to live in the present rather than ruminating on the past or fretting about the future. This ain’t hippy-shit (technical term) – research shows that this stuff works and can make you happier and ready to face the trials of This Thing Called Life.

I really want to keep up my Mindfulness work in 2017 and am rather fortunate that my friend Nisha has produced The Moments Journal, which is like a diary but is structured to enable you to find the positive in life, by guiding you through six daily questions to help you reflect on your day.

I know this is a shameless plug on behalf of a friend but, given that all profits go towards the work of Good News Shared, which aims to promote uplifting news rather than the doom and gloom we are used to, I think I am in the clear…

I TAG:

…the wonderful people who have been the first to follow my blog in 2017 and have cheered an otherwise dreary January:

Mike Fuller Author

Leaksmy Heng

Oklahoma Kid

Whole Lotta Wild

Osmi Anannya

Through My Eyes

Jenna Stumbles

Belfast Food Man

London Wlogger

Chatting About Books

Dutch Rogue Cove

Cats Kitties And More

Baking Thad Books

4 Comments Add yours

  1. baking_thad says:

    I’ll get on with doing mine this weekend if I can! Thanks @brontespageturners

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ‘I pout, therefore I act’ 😂 love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sure she’s very nice! But I can’t stand her acting…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. She’s OK at modern characters but she always does historical ones and she’s rubbish at those! And yes she does pose and pout a lot!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

